It’s a little over a week until Record Store Day 2016 and everyone at Folk and Tumble is ready to hit the local indie stores with full wallets and open minds. There’s an absolute tonne of stuff listed on the official Record Store Day site with brand new releases and reissues of some classic vinyl from days gone by. Here’s some of what we’ll be keeping an eye out for.

Bob Dylan
– ‘Melancholy Mood’

I’ve been a Dylan fan since I discovered ‘Blonde on Blonde’ lurking in a parents’ collection. This new red coloured vinyl 7″ EP features four tracks including ‘Melancholy Mood’ and ‘That Old Black Magic’.

Christy Moore
– ‘Paddy On The Road’

A chance meeting between Christy Moore and author Dominic Behan in 1968 led to the release of ‘Paddy On The Road’, his first album. This Record Store Day reissue retails about £400 less than the hard to find original.

Elvis Presley
– ‘Im Leavin’

This 12″ long player released on Sony CMG features some rare masters from Elvis Presley’s Nashville sessions in 1971 as well as cuts from other recording periods, seeing The King in introspective country singer mode.

Emmylou Harris
– ‘Wrecking Ball’

It’s been a long time since Emmylou Harris’‘Wrecking Ball’ has been available on vinyl. Released on the Nonesuch label, this Record Store Day 2016 3x LP will be a much sought-after purchase.

Fleetwood Mac
– ‘The Alternate Tusk’

‘The Alternate Tusk’ is a double LP on the Rhino label featuring rarities, demos and live tracks from the ‘Tusk’ sessions. It will feature as part of the upcoming ‘Tusk Deluxe’ but this one’s an RSD exclusive.

Glen Campbell
– ‘Wichita Lineman’

Hailed as the “first existential country song”7”, ‘Wichita Lineman’ appears on a plethora of best of lists across the country, folk and pop spectrums. This 7″ red vinyl features original Spanish 1968 artwork.

Frank Turner
– ‘Positive Songs For Negative People’

‘Positive Songs For Negative People’ was released in August 2015 to critical acclaim on Xtra Mile Records. Only a surprise release of a Dr. Dre’s record kept it off the top spot in the UK charts but that didn’t stop Frank Turner selling out venues across the UK. This limited edition 180gm black vinyl features acoustic takes of the songs and looks set to be one of the most wanted releases when it goes on sale on Saturday 16th April.

Hannah Peel
– ‘Rebox 2’

‘Rebox 2’ was originally released in 2014 featuring Peel’s unique music-box take on works by the likes of Perfume Genius and John Grant as well as originals. This Record Store Day reissue is on gold vinyl no less.

John Renbourn
– ‘The Attic Tapes’

This is an rare collection of songs from an innovator on the acoustic guitar. A double gatefold LP including exclusive vinyl-only tracks and sleeve notes written by John before his death in 2015 make this a must-have.

Johnny Cash
– ‘All Aboard The Blue Train’

‘All Aboard The Blue Train’ was originally released on Sam Philips’ Sun label back in 1962 and has long been out of print. These limited 3,000 reissues come on blue coloured vinyl and features ‘Folsom Prison Blues’.

Laura Cantrell
– ‘Not The Tremblin’ Kind’

Exclusive LP on the Spit and Polish label including a disc recorded live at the BBC

Lucinda Williams
– ‘Just A Little More Faith And Grace’

Released on 16th April 2016, this 12″ black vinyl is out on Highway 20 Records.

Malcolm Middleton
– ‘You & I’

A new three-track 7″ EP featuring all new material from the Scottish songwriter.

Guy Garvey
– ‘Unwind’

Elbow have often been supporters of Record Store Day but in 2016 it’s frontman Guy Garvey leading the charge offering up the 7″ limited edition single ‘Unwind’. It’s the second track to be taken from his critically acclaimed solo record ‘Courting The Squall’.

Glen Hansard
– ‘A Season On The Line’

12″ release on the Epitaph ADA label featuring two previously unreleased songs.

Matthew E White and Natalie Prass
– ‘Cool Out’

A Domino label release 7″ featuring two hot contemporary talents on one record.

Mumford and Sons ft. Baaba Maal
– ‘There Will Be A Time’

Recorded on tour in South Africa, this coloured 7″ EP is its first airing outside of SA.

Reverend Horton Heat
– ‘Hardscrabble Woman’

Rabble rousing rockabilly on a limited coloured 7″ release on the Victory label.

Various Artists
– ‘Bob Dylan’s Greenwich Village Vol. 1’

A host of classic acts from Odetta to Simon and Garfunkel from the 60s sessions.

Willie Nelson and Uncle Tupelo
– ‘Truck Drivin’ Man’

One classic track side by side by two legendary artists and on coloured vinyl to boot.