The Gap – India Electric Co.

'The Gap' marks a welcome return for Devon-based duo India Electric Co., back on form with their first full length album in 5 years.

The Gap

India Electric Co.

  • Folk
  • Pop

  1. Statues
  2. Five Senses
  3. Parachutes
  4. Scarlet
  5. Great Circles
  6. Fortune Turns the Wheel
  7. Follow the Drum
  8. The Broken Pledge
  9. Sparks
  10. Tempest I
  11. Tempest II

India Electric Co. are back with their first full-length album in five years. 'The Gap' finds the Devon duo of Cole Stacey and Joseph O’Keefe broadening their horizons by combining Celtic music with Bembe and electric pop influences.

At the centre of the music, Cole’s smooth vocal is complimented by O’Keefe’s multi-instrumental skills, as the lyrics are slickly combined with violins, accordions, mixed with synthesisers and strings. Well arranged the various instruments mix to create a smooth folk pop, easy listening mix.

Highlights include ‘Statues’ with its plucked violin providing a mesmerising rhythm. While ‘Great Circles’ conjures up images of arid landscapes with cinematic grandeur. ‘Fortune Turns the Wheel’ finds the duo revisiting their folk roots as they serve up a polished their version of the age-old English drinking song. In addition, their instrumental version of ‘The Broken Pledge’ mixes the Irish reel with the band’s own ethereal musical piano-based improvisation.

With ‘The Gap’, India Electric Co. have released an innovative, slick genre-crossing album that is bound to broaden their fan base beyond the traditional set.