True Meaning – Caitlin Jemma

Caitlin Jemma grew up to the sound of classic country songs, but on 'True Meaning', the influences draw from Americana, Motown, and more contemporary sounds.

True Meaning

Caitlin Jemma

  • Country
  • Soul
  • Americana

  1. One Little Feeling
  2. Yes
  3. Constellation In The Sky
  4. Morning Sun
  5. Time
  6. Counting On You
  7. To Know Love
  8. A Parting Gift
  9. You Take Me Home
  10. Color

Hailing from Nevada, Caitlin Jemma grew up around classic country, but her own inspirations include Bob Dylan, No Doubt, Joni Mitchell, and Motown. On her latest release, ‘True Meaning’ she utilises those influences to create an authentic mix of soul-infused Americana.

From the outset, it is clear that ‘True Meaning’ isn’t just another Americana record. There’s the sparseness of Neil Young in ‘Time’, a longing in ‘One Little Feeling’, acceptance in the dreamy ‘Constellation In The Sky’ and reassurance in the laid back ‘Morning Sun’.  The music is beautifully produced ranging from simple stripped-back arrangements to haunting strings mixed with gentle acoustic guitars. At times Jemma’s voice sounds vulnerable, yet never weak, and always captivating.

The Motown influence shines through on the horn fuelled ‘Yes’, ‘Counting on You’ and the harmony soaked ‘Colour’. Highlighting a versatility in her musical style and vocal range, all three mix soul, Americana, and pop to great delight.

With lyrics that show wisdom and experience beyond her years wrapped up in glorious Americana soul-infused melodies, ‘True Meaning’ is a delightful listen from start to finish.